This is destiny…

By Normita Fenn

Normita Fenn

At last my lifelong dream to become a journalist will be written, the unpaved and smooth road revealed. How sad I was when after high school my parents told me that there was no money to send me to journalism school.

Beside the kerosene lamp, I wrote the final article for my high school newspaper. As best I can remember, this is what I wrote:

As I Lay Thinking

I think about my hopes and dreams, my love for writing,
I think about the songs I’ll sing, with melody sweet and loving.

I feel the wind gently blowing, the rain endlessly dropping,
I feel the warmth of the rising sun, the birds flying and chirping.

I dream to make my parents joyful; this house has so much sadness,
I dream to mend my broken heart, with a future filled with brightness.

In my journey I met many notables and will meet many more, but there is no one more relevant to me than the everyday people trekking the same road as mine. They enrich my being, my life.

Finally I am here, with my journalism education and a successful career. The piercing sadness and the broken heart of the 16-year old are but a memory. Dreams are fulfilled. And now it’s time to build new dreams. This is destiny.

About normitafenn

Normita Fenn studied journalism at University of Massachusetts-Amherst. She earned her MBA in Marketing from Golden Gate University-San Francisco. She resides in San Ramon, California. She can be reached at lanzfenn@yahoo.com. Follow her on Twitter: @NormitaFenn
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is destiny…

  1. still4hill says:

    Best of luck in your pursuits, Normita. 🙂

  2. Normita says:

    Thank you, Still, you’ve been there with me and I truly appreciate the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

