Nations, like gardens, need renewal, upkeep

By Normita Fenn
Updated 9/20/2012
Published 9/20/2012 – Valley Journal of San Ramon Valley Times, a Bay Area News Group
Nations, like gardens, need renewal, upkeep

Normita Fenn

For the past three years or so, I noticed that our rose bushes that used to be lustrous seemed to have lost their grandeur. At first I complained to my husband – Hey, not enough water, not enough fertilizer, wrong here, wrong there. Then I finally calmed down. I made my daily visits to look at the soil, checked the browning wilted branches, looked at the yellowing lifeless leaves and touched the flowers that lost their fragrance, from branch to branch.

I took charge. I watered and fertilized, root by root. I spoke. “Please come back,” I pleaded. Then slowly, with every passing day, one day at a time, I saw life. The tiny sprouts from the branches showed hope for life, new leaves of green greeted me, under the blue horizon the rosebuds appeared as though saying, “thank you for the tender caring heart.” There’s more caring needed for the roses, but signs of life shine and fragrance is back from branch to branch.

For the risk of being too simplistic, I ask myself: if we think of our country in this context, will the lost aura and grandeur come back? That instead of complaining, can’t we work to get our country back, toward a more participative structure? To hold our politicians accountable for promises made to get elected? And for us citizens, are we willing to come out from darkness and let our voices be heard? Though the prosperity of the past is but a memory, are we open to make new memories for a future built by a nurturing people – together, from branch to branch?

First Prize

About normitafenn

Normita Fenn studied journalism at University of Massachusetts-Amherst. She earned her MBA in Marketing from Golden Gate University-San Francisco. She resides in San Ramon, California. She can be reached at lanzfenn@yahoo.com. Follow her on Twitter: @NormitaFenn
This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nations, like gardens, need renewal, upkeep

  1. Pingback: From branch to branch | Normita's Notebook

  2. CTKEY says:

    Normita, I love the symbolism of “branch to branch” and how it relates to our country. It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

