A cup of Facebook rewards

Normita Fenn

Good day, friends, bright sunshine in my side of the world of Facebook.

Yesterday, I caught one of the ‘shares’ from my niece Theresa about how Facebook enabled us to meet every day – family that we rarely see are now within reach at the click of the mouse. I never imagined the joy seeing the names of my nieces and nephews, friends and neighbors with a rounded green button in my sidebar.

Childhood friends like Sonia are suddenly now in front of the screen reminiscing the days of our growing up, she reminding me of my love to sing the love songs of yesteryears, and the poems I wrote and recited. There’s Milagros who lives in my neighborhood, always positive in spite of losing her husband. I am now also in touch with Aurora, a dedicated educator from my hometown who had her birthday yesterday, her wall filled with warm greetings from her fellow teachers and students. I was struck by how they called her ma’am, she must be loved and respected. There’s the other Aurora who is so warm, caring and spiritual – she inspires me with her dedication in our scholarship program. How Susan loves her grandchildren to the mountain peak of her being is refreshing.

Edrik, a very well-travelled journalist, accomplished in his young years, who is very generous in his sharing of knowledge and his photojournalism quests. How will I ever see the beauty of one of the wonders of the world, Banaue rice terraces located in the Philippines, if it wasn’t for his beautiful photographs? Every time Odgie posts a photo my heart glows with admiration for the picture-quality the image projects. He knows my love for bougainvillea and posts them on my wall from time to time to cheer me up. Oh, and there’s Joey, a customer service guru and many more talents under his belt, who woke up one morning and created a page called Raves and Rants where people can post experiences, good and bad, not only to share, but as a venue to unload our frustrations, joy and as a learning board.

And there is Mario and his very smart children Nemo and Iya. Mario and Leni as young parents inspire us with their parenting skills in this high tech age. Up to my last breath, I will always dream for Nemo to be the Speaker of the House of Representatives here in the U.S. His sister Iya will be a scientist, I will have to ask her, “Iya, scientist in what field?”

“Chelsea” tea cup and saucer

There are many more Facebook rewards to surface. I will save them for another morning. Enjoy your morning coffee.

Normita

————-
Normita Fenn studied journalism at University of Massachusetts-Amherst. She earned her MBA in Marketing from Golden Gate University-San Francisco. She resides in San Ramon, California. She can be reached at lanzfenn@yahoo.com. Follow her on Twitter: @NormitaFenn

About normitafenn

Normita Fenn studied journalism at University of Massachusetts-Amherst. She earned her MBA in Marketing from Golden Gate University-San Francisco. She resides in San Ramon, California. She can be reached at lanzfenn@yahoo.com. Follow her on Twitter: @NormitaFenn
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A cup of Facebook rewards

  1. a says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious
    what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours
    would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

